The Sanctuary
Wayanad Wildlife Sanctuary was formed in 1973 by carving areas out of the Wayanad and Kozhikode Territorial Divisions. A separate Wildlife Division, the Wayanad Wildlife Division was constituted in 1985. There are 13 Reserved Forests in this sanctuary. Wayanad wildlife Sanctuary is a part of Nilgiri Biosphere Reserve and Project Elephant Reserve No. 7. It is contiguous with Mudumalai Wild life Sanctuary of Tamil Nadu and Bandipur and Nagarahole National Park of Karnataka.

Wayanad Wildlife sanctuary is significant because of ecological and geographic continuity with other protected areas such as Bandipur Tiger Reserve and Nagarhole N.P., of Karnataka in north-eastern portion and Mudumalai Tiger Reserve of Tamil Nadu in south-eastern side offering an unique eco system enriched with wildlife, forming natural corridor for the seasonal migration of long ranging animals within the greater conservation unit.

Wayanad District as such is distinct with preponderance of tribes. The life style of tribes revolves around forests. Many tribes and non-tribes depend on forests for livelihood. There is high density of settlements within the PA with human and cattle population offering scope for full-fledged eco-development activities. The competing demands make the sanctuary habitat poor and associated problems leading to man-animal-conflicts, a perennial problem for the managers of the P.A.