Zonation with four zones is followed .They are:
a) Core Zone   b) Buffer zone   c) Tourism zone   d) Restoration zone

Wayanad Wildlife Sanctuary - Zonation map

Core zone (111 Sq. Km):
This zone comprises of natural forests including areas contiguous to interstate boundaries. No forestry operations or any kind of habitat manipulation, except those aimed at restoration and maintenance is prescribed in this zone.

Buffer zone:
Management interventions aiming at habitat manipulation and protection are envisaged in the buffer zone

Tourism zone:
Tourism zones are in Muthanga and Tholpetty Ranges only. It is proposed to develop this zone by providing adequate facilities for the tourists.